Samantha Pleet’s Spring 2011 Collection Featured on Refinery29

One of the first designers that turned me on to eco and sustainable fashion was Samantha Pleet. From the moment I laid eyes on her totally unique and exquisite aesthetic, which just happens to be environmentally friendly to boot, there was no turning back!

Photo Courtesy of Fashion Copious

So when I came across her Spring 2011 collection showcased on one of my favorite fashion websites, Refinery29, I was beyond ecstatic! If any eco-friendly fashion designer deserves the spotlight, it has got to be Samantha Pleet. Not only does she have a knack for making the most amazing clothing, but she is also quite the charmer.

When I interviewed the Pratt graduate at her quaint studio in Brooklyn, we talked about her design aesthetic and the choices she makes when it comes to materials and production.

“I never really considered myself an eco-friendly designer. It is really about the design for me first. Of course I care about the environment, but I am just so un-attracted to materials like plastic and in my life I even try to not have any plastic. I am really influenced by history and I really like good quality products.

When you are wearing something, it is on your skin and you should be concerned with what it is. Sometimes with recycled materials, I stay away because it is really more about the feel of the material and knowing where it came from. Like a happy sheep, you know? Things like that really make a difference to me. I am really into supporting local businesses, so my wool comes from a farm in Vermont.”

Photos Courtesy of Refinery29

So far it seems that Pleet’s point of view has worked well for her and I can’t wait to see what she does next. One thing is for sure, she is one eco-friendly, talented designer that is certainly here to stay!

To peruse Samantha Pleet’s to-die-for collection, head on over to Bird, Kaight, TG170, Honey in the Rough, or Court in NYC, or Revolve Clothing, Satine, Ten Over Six, in LA, or stay home and shop online at I Don’t Like Mondays and Sunday Brunch Dress.

Leave a Reply

